happy lunar new year

Posted in other stuff by nikkipolani on February 7, 2008

new year

Just in time for a little new year celebration, the nice folks at White on Rice Couple sent me a flowering tea to try and they sent it in style. Check out this gorgeous li xi envelope (never mind that it’s not the traditional red). In the background is an old photo of me holding a paper lantern*. I’m guessing I was about 3 years old standing at the door of our house in Saigon.

Happy New Year!

autumn festival * Mom told me that certainly is not a New Year photo: “For New Year, there would be pots of trĂ¡i tac (small tangerine) or blossoms of some flowers I don’t know the names, one is dahlia, and fire crackers. Inside the house, there should be branches of yellow hoa mai or pink cherry blossoms and trays of food, AND you must wear new clothes, not in “casual” like that kid!”

19 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lisa's Chaos said, on February 7, 2008 at 9:19 am

    I love that shot! Happy New Year to you too. :)

    Hey, I left something for you over at my place. :)

  2. mylozmom said, on February 7, 2008 at 9:33 am

    Happy new year to you too! That is a beautiful comour red I might add!

  3. flighty said, on February 7, 2008 at 10:24 am

    Happy New Year! That’s a charming picture of you.xx

  4. nikkipolani said, on February 7, 2008 at 10:54 am

    Flighty – photographic proof that I didn’t cry EVERY waking hour!
    Thanks, Mylozmom! Can’t wait to see what your Hannah comes up with this year.
    Thanks, Lisa – I just saw – you are so sweet!

  5. mary said, on February 7, 2008 at 11:06 am

    Happy New Year! What a cute little girl…

  6. daffy said, on February 7, 2008 at 12:53 pm

    And you are still a fresh faced beauty now! ;o)
    Happy New Year.
    *looks closer*
    No! No tears! :o)

  7. Tracy said, on February 7, 2008 at 1:11 pm

    That is the most gorgeous packaging. I bet it really shines in person.

  8. Aiyana said, on February 7, 2008 at 4:34 pm

    I love using those red envelopes for collage art. I usually buy them on Ebay. They are gorgeous!
    That is an adorable photo of you as a child.

  9. Olivia said, on February 7, 2008 at 5:38 pm

    Oh you are such a doll with your lantern and your short trousers and your bowl cut! ;)

    Happy New Year, Gong hai fa choi.

    Was in Chinatown tonight and the streets were hung with red lanterns and people were throwing fireworks.

  10. White On Rice Couple said, on February 7, 2008 at 6:02 pm

    Your baby picture is so cute. Hope you enjoy the tea. Happy New Year.

  11. Wandering Chopsticks said, on February 7, 2008 at 6:06 pm

    Aren’t you the cutest? Happy New Year!

    PS, I can just see my momma being like yours and correcting me.

  12. Julie said, on February 7, 2008 at 7:34 pm

    Beautiful girl, and beautiful card! Happy New Year. My daughters school went out to lunch to celebrate the New Year today!!

  13. Ellen said, on February 7, 2008 at 7:36 pm

    Oh what beautiful photography!

  14. Dawn said, on February 7, 2008 at 9:07 pm

    Happy new year. I just tried the flowering tea today for the first time and want to go find some. I love the photo of you when young. Funny about “that kid”.

  15. nikkipolani said, on February 7, 2008 at 9:15 pm

    I hear you’ve been busy, Dawn, nice to see you :-) Which flowering tea did you try? I had the amaranth and the flavor was quite mild and delicate. Hoping to try the osmanthus one soon.
    Thanks, Ellen and WORC and Mary :-)
    Julie, I joined my parents and brothers for dinner of some traditional foods.
    Liv, one day, I hope to visit Little Saigon during Tet. I’m not in that habit and often miss out on the festivities. Did you take any pics?
    Aiyana, I didn’t know you did collage. Will you share some photos of them someday?
    Tracy, it is very pretty – like a bright brocade.
    Daffy, no tears because holidays meant sweets and I was nothing if a sweet tooth when I was that age. I’ve more than made up for it now ;-)

  16. Blueandtigger said, on February 8, 2008 at 10:26 am

    Happy New Year to you :)

    That is a really great picture. The one of you and your mom is great!!

  17. Olivia said, on February 8, 2008 at 4:39 pm

    No, so slap me, I didn’t – no lanterns, and none of my old friend whom I hadn’t seen in 8 years!

  18. Ginni said, on February 8, 2008 at 7:39 pm

    What a beautiful envelope!! I also love the gorgeous artwork on the little New Year’s red envelopes…usually goldfish, flowers and all such lovely subjects. You were such an adorable child!! And you’re equally as adorable as an adult!

    A belated Happy New Year!
    Hugs and much happiness thru the new year

  19. dawnhouser said, on February 10, 2008 at 5:43 pm

    can i say that photo equals the one of you & your beautiful mother?
    happy new year, lovey.

So tell me...

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

